Perpetual End – Blood Complex

Perpetual End - Blood Complex

It’s generally a good idea to never start any kind of review with “I don’t normally listen to [insert genre here]” for one obvious reason. If you don’t normally listen to it, or like it, how can you make a fair judgement? You have nothing to compare your subject matter to, and you would have come in to the review with an opinion already formed based on personal tastes.

I’m going to break that rule. I don’t normally listen to progressive metal, but it is not that I don’t like it, or have never listened to it. It just doesn’t fill my music library. There is one reason for that. I have a short attention span, and I can never get through those gargantuan songs. I can handle up to 8 minutes, but those 20-minute epics? Sorry, but I just can’t do it.

And that is why before I even press play on Perpetual End’s Blood Complex, I know that at the very least I will be able to get through the record. Progressive metalheads these Canberra boys may be, but thy don’t adhere to epic song lengths. The longest on the record comes in at just under 7 minutes, keeping everything concise, ensuring this listener at least doesn’t drift off mid-song.

Luckily for Perpetual End I not only can get through the record, but I would happily listen to it again and again. Blood Complex is a concept album, telling the story of a dystopian future of an overpopulated, starving planet. These guys prove that a complex story can be told within an album that doesn’t need you to set aside a few hours of your day to listen to.

Blood Complex doesn’t rely solely on distorted guitars, chunky riffs and death metal growls – though they are still around – to produce a heavy, sinister sound. It’s the story of the record, the eerie piano led tracks “Bird of Prey” and “Earth and Soil” that create the darker atmosphere, rather than just destroying your ear drums. “Survival” and “I’m On Fire” sit on the heavier side of things, giving those inclined something to headbang to.

If you like a story with your music, and are looking to be taken on a journey then you want to add Blood Complex to your music collection.

Leave a Reply

